I Ain’t Got Time for That!

Student 1: “Ms. C, can I stay after with you; I failed a test and need to bring my grade up.”

Me: It’s Monday. I stay after on Wednesdays.  I ain’t got time for that.

Student 2:  “Ms. C When will we get our grades for our essays.” (That were turned in yesterday!)

Me: I ain’t got time for that.

Student 3: “Ms. C why can’t Photography Club meet every Monday?”

Me: I ain’t got time for that.

Student 4: “Ms. C, Can I turn in my assignment that was due three weeks ago?”

Me: Uh, No; I ain’t got time to grade that.

Student 5:  “Ms. C, what can I do to bring my B to an A?”

Me: Nothing.  That’s a mastery level grade.  I ain’t got time for that.

Student 6:  “Uh Ms. C, did you get the emails that I sent you over the weekend about why my work will be late again?”

Me: I ain’t got time to read your emails of the weekend.  I have a life, a family, a home!

Student 7:  “Dear Ms. C, I noticed I got a D on my first draft.  Could you please send me the notes on that draft?  Also can I meet with you before and after school three days this week to improve my grade?” (Truth: The draft was incomplete and ignored all expectations set forth in class for revisions and notes on revisions.)

Me: I ain’t got time for that.  Complete your draft.

Student 8:  “Dear Ms. C, I noticed you put in a Not Handed In on my Independent Reading Assignment 1.  I know I did it and turned it in.  Maybe you lost my work?”

Me:  Dear student, Glad to hear from you!  Check your binder for this assignment.  I ain’t got time for that.

Student 9: ” Ms. C do you have a pencil and paper I can borrow?”

Me: Borrow?  Are you going to give me back the paper that you took notes on so that I can keep it as a keepsake?

Next Day INT ELA Classroom

Me:  Okay let’s get ready for our mini lesson today!  Writers, today we are going to grow into–

Student 10: (Raises hands)

Me: Yes?

Student 10: “Can I go to the bathroom?”

Me: I ain’t got time for that!

2 thoughts on “I Ain’t Got Time for That!

Leave a Reply

