I Panic

Tightened jaw

I panic

trying to release it, them, you

I unhook my bra

searching for a moment of that freedom

 

Tightened jaw

I panic

 

I close my eyes and breathe

I hit play to that playlist,

the one that heals

hoping for a moment of kindness

 

Tightened jaw

I panic

 

find a comfortable position

close your eyes

meditate

breathe

stop thinking

stop comparing

stop punishing

 

Tightened jaw

I panic

 

tilting my head back

breathing steady

I try

to

get

it

them

you

out

of

mind.

 

Yet you remain

your roots thrive

growing faster with each breath

traveling into the cells of my bones.

 

Tightened Jaw

I panic

 

believing that you will never release my mind, my body, my soul

to live free, light, sweet.

2 thoughts on “I Panic

Leave a Reply

