Imperfectly!

Swimming in a sea of perfection
I swallow it down
drowning in chlorine

She's better
He's better
they're all better
What am I?

Right
left
right
breathe in
right
exhale
exhale
exhale

"it's humbling," she says
expecting to be perfect 
the first time
in a new pool
after an injury

I look and remember
grateful that today
I'm not her
I'm not perfect 
and actually don't care!

Shivering in the lane
I wait my turn
I take off swiftly:
my favorite stroke
Kick, glide, breathe, repeat
I am powerful
I am strong
I am confident
imperfectly!

I look to my right
and want to yell:
it's not humbling, 
It's perfect
It's beautiful
It's... 
It's okay!

Instead, I smile
and crack a joke or two
We laugh and laugh
and say our goodbyes
until next time
until next time
with hope and courage
we will return
to dive in 
again.
10 thoughts on “Imperfectly!

Leave a Reply

