Dissolve

I slipped on my Women's size 6
gray and teal Chuck Taylor's
and stood up
it was 70 degrees outside
December
A slight summer-like breeze
brushed through the apartment
hugging me
wishing me luck
All my belongings
packed, stacked
outside
in a large truck
the inside
empty--
I couldn't help but remember
that first day I walked into
this very home 2 & 1/2 years ago
empty
just like this
minus
all the love and comfort
our first place
as husband and wife
the place
 --where I found my job
the place
 --where I started my novel
the place
the home
my home
The sun warmed my back
I memorized the blue walls
the very color
that we had chosen
holding hands
 --compromising.
"you ready?" he asked
placing his hand on the small of my back
hand-in-hand
we walked out
leaving it behind:
our first place
allowing the sadness 
to dissolve into the new
the new love
the new comfort
that would be our--
my
sweet home.
My New Backyard!
My New Backyard!
3 thoughts on “Dissolve

Leave a Reply

